Jean-Louis Etienne
 
 
 
Jean-Louis Etienne - Alone on Ice pack
How man copes with the cold
 
Communications - Safety - Emergency assistance
 
Jean-Louis Etienne - Atmosphere & weather
The earth’s atmosphere  
 
Weather forecasting and modeling  
 
The climate and the north pole  
 
The solar energy balance  
 
The greenhouse effect  
 
Jean-Louis Etienne - Arctic ice
The ice pack: frozen saltwater  
 
Ice pack observation satellites  
 
Icebergs : frozen seawater  
 
The arctic ice: climate archives  
 
Ice ages and landscapes  
 
Jean-Louis Etienne - The ocean and marine life
The Arctic Ocean and the ocean currents  
 
Genesis of the arctic ocean  
 
Arctic plankton  
 
Oceanic biodiversity and the food chain  
 
Whales and other cetaceans  
 
Seals and walruses  
 
Jean-Louis Etienne - Life on land
Arctic flora  
 
Arctic fauna  
 
Polar bears  
 
Birds of the arctic  
 
Evolution of species and climate  
 
Jean-Louis Etienne - History and geography
Geography of the Arctic regions  
 
Geographic North Pole and magnetic North Pole  
 
Who owns the arctic ?  
 
Exploring the deep north  
 
The Inuit people  
 
The other peoples of the deep North  
 
The Arctic today  
 
Jean-Louis Etienne - Man's impact
Man and arctic biodiversity  
 
Pollution in the arctic  
 
Climate warming: the natural cycles  
 
The increase in the greenhouse effect  
 
The impact of global warming  
 
 
 
Atmosphere and weather
The greenhouse effect
 
 

Like a glasshouse around the globe
Given the distance between the Earth and the Sun, our planet should be icy cold (-18°C), but the average temperature at the Earth’s surface is actually +15°C. Why? Because the atmosphere around the Earth acts like a greenhouse, letting the Sun’s rays in to warm us up and preventing the heat from escaping again. This phenomenon is called the “greenhouse effect”.

Gases in tiny amounts but playing a vital role
The water vapour present in the air accounts for two thirds of the greenhouse effect. But there are gases, sometimes present in very small amounts, that also contribute to it. The main greenhouse gases, or GHG, are: carbon dioxide (CO2), methane, nitrogen protoxide, ozone (a sort of super-oxygen found in the lower atmosphere) and compounds called CFCs.

An age-old heating system
Right from the time our solar system was formed, 4.6 billion years ago, the greenhouse effect has regulated the Earth’s climate. But the atmosphere has evolved quite a lot since its original and primitive composition. One marked change was that photosynthesis, starting with the earliest plants, gradually lowered the proportion of CO2 in the atmosphere, helping to maintain a life-friendly temperature on Earth.

A phenomenon amplified by human activity
In its original state, the greenhouse effect was a completely natural phenomenon and invaluable to the Earth’s equilibrium. But the effect can be amplified if the amounts of GHG present are allowed to increase. And this is now happening as a result of the pollution generated by human activities. This is raising concerns about possible climate problems in future.

The main factors behind the greenhouse effect are :
- Water vapour (H20), which is produced by evaporation of the water in plants, soil, watercourses and the ocean. A small amount is also emitted by volcanoes (this is how the planet’s original, primitive atmosphere was formed).
- Carbon dioxide (CO2), which is a natural gas, is generated by: the breathing process of living beings (while the photosynthesis of green plants consumes CO2); combustion (forest fires); and volcanic eruptions. The amount of CO2 in the atmosphere is regulated by the ocean, which can absorb large quantities of the gas.
- Methane (CH4) is also a natural gas. It is given off by the decomposition of organic matter where no oxygen is present (rotting in marshes, mangroves, thawed ground in the Arctic and of course digestion in animal stomachs). It is also given off when volcanoes erupt.
- Ozone (O3), present in the lower atmosphere (troposphere), is a natural gas too. It probably descends from the stratosphere via “pockets” punched by the upper jet stream. Ozone is like oxygen except that is has three oxygen atoms instead of two. The gas is a veritable poison to plants as well as human skin and our respiratory system (asthma attacks). But at altitude, say 20 or 30 km up, ozone is a very useful gas, as it protects us against ultraviolet solar radiation, which is dangerous to most life forms. This is the gas referred to when ecologists talk of the seasonal hole in the ozone layer, first discovered overhead the Antarctic and now reckoned to be diminishing – a phenomenon that worries scientists because of the potential dangers to human beings.
- Nitrogen protoxide is one of the substances produced when nitrates in the soil are broken down by bacteria. It then escapes into the atmosphere and reacts to produce nitrogen oxide NO).
- CFCs or chloro-fluoro-carbons, are produced as a result of human activities. They are mentioned here so as to be compared with other GHGs.

L'importance des gaz à effet de serre :

Gas Concentration (ppm*) Greenhouse effect efficiency Contribution to the greenhouse effect (W/m2)
H2O (water vapour) 3000 1NBSP. 100
CO2 355 1 50
CH4 1, 8 21 1,8
N20 0,3 310 1,3
O3 < 0,1 2 000 1,3
CFC 0,01 10 000 0,3
* ppm = parts per million, i.e. 1cm3 per m3 of air
 
Atmosphere & weather
 
   
   
     

GHGs are present in the atmosphere in only minute amounts, and these amounts usually fluctuate too. However, the molecules of these gases, formed of two or more atoms, vibrate and become agitated when struck by the infrared radiation emitted outwards by the land or ocean, and this heats up the atmosphere so that it becomes a huge “heat trap” producing energy at a rate of 340 W/m2, much more than the amount of solar radiation directly striking the Earth’s surface (158 W/m2).

When the atmospheric variations speed up of their own accord we speak of “positive retro-action”, and when they slow down it is called “negative retro-action”. It is the water vapour in the atmosphere that amplifies the variations in the greenhouse effect. In accordance with the laws of physics (in this case Clausius-Clapeyron’s Law), the colder air becomes the less water vapour it can hold (hence the formation of fog in cold weather), and this diminishes the greenhouse effect. On the other hand, the warmer the air, the more water vapour it can hold (hot, humid tropical climates), and this increases the greenhouse effect.

If, at a given pressure and a temperature of -20°C, 1 kg of air can hold 1 g of water in vapour state, at -10°C it can hold 2 g. But at +20°C, the same volume of air can hold 15 g of water vapour, and 26 g at +30°C. Beyond this point, the air is saturated and the vapour will form water droplets or ice crystals, resulting in fog, frost, clouds or condensation mist on objects.

   
 
   
   
     

During the Erebus mission, Jean-Louis Etienne and his companions took atmospheric samples of trace gases (ozone, methane, etc.) throughout the voyage of the “Antarctica” down towards the southernmost continent. These measurements formed part of a study programme to find out more about the complex chemistry of trace gases in the atmosphere. This “photo-chemistry”, so called because it is affected by the sun, regulates the delicate but little-known balances in the Earth’s atmosphere.

   
   
 
   
The Moon has no atmosphere at all because its mass is too low to retain gases around it, so the Moon has no greenhouse effect. Venus and Mars, on the other hand, do have dense atmosphere and the greenhouse effect is present.
   
     
   
   
   

Bibliography

- L'effet de serre (Numéro spécial, La Recherche n° 243, 1992)
- Dossier pédagogique : L'Arctique et l'environnement boréal (P. Avérous ­ CNDP, 1995)
- Expédition Erebus (J.-L. Etienne / P. Avérous- Arthaud-1994)
- Dossier pédagogique "EREBUS" : L'environnement polaire 2 (P. Avérous-Autrement dit, CNDP-1994)
- Encyclopédia Universalis
- La Terre... notre planète (P. Avérous-Nathan-1990)
- Atmosphère, Atmosphère (Science & Vie, Hors série n° 174-1991)
- Quel climat pour demain ? (S. Huet, Calmann-Levy, 2000)
- L'incertitude des climats (R. Kandel, Hachette, 1998)
- Le climat de la Terre (R. Sadourny, DOMINOS, Flammarion, 1994)

Useful web site

http://www.planete-energies.com/contenu/energie/avenir/
gaz-effet-de-serre.html

National Scientific Research Centre site :
http://www.cnrs.fr/dossiers/dosclim/sysfacte/systfactMot/effetserre.htm

Dossier de Météo-France :
http://www.meteo.fr/meteonet/decouvr/dossier/effetser/eff.htm

 

   
 
 
 
Contact Newsletter Help Credits Legal information Media
Jean-Louis Etienne  Version française
Septième continent - La maison d'édition

Jean-Louis Etienne
 
 
 
Jean-Louis Etienne - Seul sur la banquise
L'adaptation de l'homme au froid
 
Transmission –Sécurité - Secours
 
Jean-Louis Etienne - Atmosphère et météo
L'atmosphère terrestre  
 
Prévision météo et modélisation  
 
Le climat polaire  
 
Le bilan énergétique solaire  
 
L'effet de serre  
 
Jean-Louis Etienne - Glaces arctiques
Banquise : glace de mer  
 
Les satellites observent la banquise  
 
Icebergs : glace d'eau douce  
 
Les glaces : archives du climat  
 
Glaciations et paysages  
 
Jean-Louis Etienne - Océan et vie marine
L’Arctique et la circulation océanique  
 
Genèse de l’océan Arctique  
 
Le plancton arctique  
 
Biodiversité marine et réseau alimentaire  
 
Baleines et autres Cétacés  
 
Phoques et Morses  
 
Jean-Louis Etienne - Vie terrestre
La flore polaire  
 
La faune polaire  
 
L'ours blanc  
 
Les oiseaux de l'Arctique  
 
Evolution des espèces et climat  
 
Jean-Louis Etienne - Histoire et géographie
Géographie des régions arctiques  
 
Pôle Nord géographique, Pôle Nord Magnétique  
 
A qui appartient l'Arctique ?  
 
Les découvreurs du Grand Nord  
 
Les Inuits  
 
Les autres peuples du Grand Nord  
 
L'Arctique aujourd'hui  
 
Jean-Louis Etienne - Impact de l'homme
L'homme et la biodiversité arctique  
 
Pollutions en Arctique  
 
Réchauffement : les cycles naturels  
 
L'augmentation de l'effet de serre  
 
Les conséquences du réchauffement  
 
 
 
Atmosphère et météo
L'effet de serre
 
 

Comme une vitre autour du globe
À la distance qui la sépare du Soleil, la Terre devrait être une planète de glace (-18°C). Pourtant, la température moyenne à la surface du globe est de + 15° C. Pourquoi ? Parce que l'atmosphère qui nous enveloppe joue le rôle d'une vitre, à travers laquelle le Soleil réchauffe le sol et qui empêche cette chaleur de repartir dans l'espace. C'est cela, “ l'effet de serre ”.

Des gaz en quantité infime, mais essentiels
La vapeur d'eau contenue dans l'air est responsable des deux tiers de l'effet de serre. Mais certains gaz, même présents en très très faible quantité, participent aussi à cet effet. Ce sont surtout le CO2 (dioxyde de carbone ou gaz carbonique), le méthane, le protoxyde d'azote, l'ozone de la basse atmosphère - une sorte de "super oxygène" - et les composés dits CFC.

Un chauffage vieux comme le monde
Dès la formation du système solaire, il y a 4,6 milliards d'années, l'effet de serre a régné sur le climat de notre planète. Mais depuis sa composition primitive, l'atmosphère a beaucoup évolué. En particulier, la photosynthèse des premières plantes, en abaissant progressivement la teneur en CO2, a aidé à maintenir sur la Terre une température favorable à la vie.

Un phénomène amplifié par l'homme
À l'origine très naturel et précieux pour l'équilibre de la Terre, l'effet de serre peut être amplifié si les teneurs des gaz qui en sont responsables augmentent. Et c'est justement ce que produisent nos activités humaines. Cette augmentation de " l'effet de serre " due à nos rejets polluants est inquiétante pour l'avenir de notre climat

Les principaux acteurs :
- La vapeur d'eau (H2O) est produite par l'évaporation des plantes, des sols, des cours d'eau et des océans. Une faible quantité est aussi libérée par les volcans (c'est ainsi que s'est formée l'atmosphère terrestre primitive).
- Le "gaz carbonique" (CO2), d'origine naturelle provient de la respiration des êtres vivants (alors que la photosynthèse des plantes vertes en consomme), des combustions (incendies...) et des éruptions volcaniques. Cette présence de CO2 dans l'air est régulée par l'Océan, capable d'en absorber de grandes quantités.
- Le méthane (CH4) d'origine naturelle est libéré par la décomposition des matières organiques en milieu privé d'oxygène : le pourrissement dans les marais, les mangroves, les sols dégelés des régions arctiques, ou encore la digestion les animaux. Il s'en échappe aussi lors des éruptions volcaniques.
- L'ozone (O3) de la basse atmosphère, d'origine naturelle, descend vraisemblablement de la stratosphère par le biais de "poches", percées par les courant-jets d'altitude. L'ozone est de l'oxygène, mais sa molécule ne comporte pas 2 atomes, comme le dioxygène utile à notre respiration (O2), mais 3. Cet ozone de la basse atmosphère (troposphère), est un véritable poison pour les plantes, la peau et le système respiratoire (crises d'asthme). En altitude, vers 20 ou 30 km, l'ozone est au contraire très utile : il nous protège des rayons solaires ultraviolets, dangereux pour la vie ; c'est l'ozone du "trou" saisonnier - un manque d'ozone - repéré au-dessus de l'Antarctique et dont la formation inquiète les scientifiques, car sa diminution pourraient avoir des effets nocifs sur les êtres vivants.
- Le protoxyde d'azote (N20) est un des produits de la transformation des nitrates par les bactéries du sol. Il s'échappe alors dans l'atmosphère et réagit pour produire du monoxyde d'azote (NO).
- Quant aux CFC , ou Chloro-Fluoro-Carbones, ce sont tous des composés émis par les activités humaines. Ils sont ici cités pour être comparés aux autres gaz à effet de serre.

L'importance des gaz à effet de serre :

Gaz Concentration (ppm*) Efficacité dans l'effet de serre Contribution à l'effet de serre (Watt/m2 )
H2O (vapeur) 3000 1NBSP. 100
CO2 355 1 50
CH4 1, 8 21 1,8
N20 0,3 310 1,3
O3 < 0,1 2 000 1,3
CFC 0,01 10 000 0,3
* 1 ppm (partie par million) = 1 cm3 par m3 d'air
 
Atmosphère et météo
 
   
   
     

Dans l'atmosphère, les gaz "à effet de serre" sont en concentrations infimes et, en général, fluctuantes. Cependant, leurs molécules, formées de 2 ou plusieurs atomes, vibrent et s'agitent sous l'effet des rayons infrarouges renvoyés par le sol ou l'océan, ce qui réchauffe l'atmosphère. Un "piège de chaleur" colossal qui produit un flux de 340 Watts par m2, soit beaucoup plus que l'énergie solaire arrivant directement au sol (158 w/m2) !

Lorsque les variations d'un phénomène s'auto-accentuent, on parle de " rétroaction positive" ; lorsqu'elles s'autolimitent, on parle de "rétroaction négative". Dans l'atmosphère, la vapeur d'eau amplifie les variations de l'effet de serre. En effet, d'après les lois de la physique (loi de Clausius-Clapeyron), plus l'air est froid, moins il peut contenir d'eau à l'état de vapeur (formation de brouillards par temps froid) : ce qui diminue l'effet de serre. À l'inverse, plus il fait chaud, plus l'air peut contenir d'eau (climats tropicaux chauds et humides) : ce qui renforce l'effet de serre.

Si, à une pression donnée et à -20°C,1 kg d'air peut contenir 1g d'eau sous forme de vapeur, à -10°C, il peut en contenir 2g. Mais à +20°C, cette même quantité d'air peut emprisonner 15 g d'eau et 26 g à 30°C. Au-delà de ces valeurs, il y a saturation de l'humidité et il se forme gouttelettes ou cristaux de glace : brouillard, givre, nuages... ou encore, buée sur les objets.

   
 
   
   
     

Lors de la mission EREBUS , Jean-Louis Etienne et ses collaborateurs ont effectué des prélèvements de gaz atmosphériques en traces (ozone, méthane...) tout au long de la "descente" de l'Antarctica vers le continent austral. Ces mesures ont été intégrées dans une étude visant à mieux connaître la chimie complexe des gaz en traces dans l'atmosphère. Cette photochimie - que l'on appelle ainsi car elle est placée sous l'influence du soleil - règle les équilibres délicats et encore mal connus de notre enveloppe gazeuse.

   
   
 
   
La Lune est totalement privée d'atmosphère car sa masse est trop faible pour retenir des gaz. Elle ne connaît donc pas d'effet de serre. Vénus ou Mars en revanche, qui retiennent une atmosphère dense, subissent ce phénomène.
   
     
   
   
   

Bibliographie

- L'effet de serre (Numéro spécial, La Recherche n° 243, 1992)
- Dossier pédagogique : L'Arctique et l'environnement boréal (P. Avérous ­ CNDP, 1995)
- Expédition Erebus (J.-L. Etienne / P. Avérous- Arthaud-1994)
- Dossier pédagogique "EREBUS" : L'environnement polaire 2 (P. Avérous-Autrement dit, CNDP-1994)
- Encyclopédia Universalis
- La Terre... notre planète (P. Avérous-Nathan-1990)
- Atmosphère, Atmosphère (Science & Vie, Hors série n° 174-1991)
- Quel climat pour demain ? (S. Huet, Calmann-Levy, 2000)
- L'incertitude des climats (R. Kandel, Hachette, 1998)
- Le climat de la Terre (R. Sadourny, DOMINOS, Flammarion, 1994)

Autres sites à visiter

http://www.planete-energies.com/contenu/energie/avenir/
gaz-effet-de-serre.html

Dossier du CNRS :
http://www.cnrs.fr/dossiers/dosclim/sysfacte/systfactMot/effetserre.htm

Dossier de Météo-France :
http://www.meteo.fr/meteonet/decouvr/dossier/effetser/eff.htm

 

   
 
 
 
Contact Lettre d'information Aide Crédits Mentions légales Espace presse
Jean-Louis Etienne  English version
Septième continent - La maison d'édition