Jean-Louis Etienne
  Biography | Books | Films | Lectures  
Jean-Louis Etienne

Jean-Louis Etienne
 
 
 
Dr Jean-Louis Etienne
Physician - explorer
 
 
 
Born 9 December 1946 in Vielmur (Tarn), France

Doctor of Medicine
Internship in hospitals in the Midi-Pyrénées region
Postgraduate degree in Dietetics & Nutrition
Diplomas in Biology and Sports Medicine
  Officer of the Order of the Legion of Honour
Chevalier de l’Ordre National du Mérite
Chevalier de l’Ordre de la Légion d’Honneur
Chevalier de l’Ordre des Palmes Académiques
Member of the Académie des Technologies
Gold Medal awarded by the Société de Géographie
 

As a doctor specialising in sports biology and nutrition, Jean-Louis Etienne has taken part in numerous expeditions to the Himalayas, Greenland and Patagonia as well as crewing with Eric Tabarly for a round-the-world race aboard Pen Duick VI.

In 1986 he became the first man to reach the North Pole solo overland, pulling his own sled for 63 days.

Between July 1989 and March 1990, he was co-leader alongside American Will Steger of the international Transantarctica expedition, which used dog sleds to make the longest overland crossing of Antarctica ever accomplished: 6,300 km.

Jean-Louis Etienne is also a totally committed environmentalist, and between 1990 and 1996 he led a number of education-oriented scientific expeditions to raise public awareness of the Polar regions and to learn more about their impact on the Earth’s climate and life forms. In 1991-92 he travelled in the polar sailing vessel Antarctica to Patagonia, South Georgia and the Antarctic Peninsula. Then in 1993-94 he led the Erebus expedition and in 1995-96 he wintered at Spitzbergen.

In the spring of 2002, Jean-Louis Etienne undertook Mission Banquise (Sea-Ice Mission), drifting for three months on the sea ice around the North Pole in his Polar Observer capsule in order to carry our research and gather data on global warming.

From December 2004 to April 2005, he led a team of researchers from the Natural History Museum, IRD and CNRS (the National Scientific Research Centre) to carry out a biodiversity inventory and assess the state of the marine environment around the French atoll of Clipperton in the Pacific.

From January 2007 to January 2008, Jean-Louis Etienne planned a trans-Arctic expedition aboard a dirigible in order to measure the thickness of the sea ice, but the expedition was suspended when the dirigible was destroyed by a storm during the training programme.

From September 2007 to October 2008, he was Director of the Oceanographic Institute – Foundation Albert I Prince of Monaco.

In April 2010, he made the first crossing of the Arctic Ocean with a balloon rozière.

 
 
 
 
Contact Newsletter Help Credits Legal information Media
Jean-Louis Etienne  Version française
Septième continent - La maison d'édition

Jean-Louis Etienne
  Biographie | Livres | Films | Conférences  








Jean-Louis Etienne

Jean-Louis Etienne
 
 
 
Dr Jean-Louis Etienne
Médecin - explorateur
 
 
 
Né le 9 décembre 1946 à Vielmur, Tarn

Docteur en médecine
Ancien Interne des Hôpitaux de la Région Midi-Pyrénées
DESS de Diététique et Génie Alimentaire
Diplômé de Biologie et Médecine du Sport
  Officier de l’Ordre de la Légion d’Honneur
Chevalier de l'Ordre National du Mérite
Chevalier de l'Ordre de la Légion d'Honneur
Chevalier de l'Ordre des Palmes Académiques
Membre de l’Académie des Technologies
Médaille d'or de la Société de Géographie
 

Médecin spécialiste de nutrition et de biologie du sport, Jean-Louis ETIENNE a participé à de nombreuses expéditions en Himalaya, au Groenland, en Patagonie, ainsi qu'à la course autour du monde à la voile sur Pen Duick VI avec Eric Tabarly.

En 1986, il est le premier homme à atteindre le pôle Nord en solitaire, tirant lui-même son traîneau pendant 63 jours.

Entre juillet 1989 et mars 1990, il est co-leader avec l'Américain Will Steger de l'expédition internationale Transantarctica et réussit en traîneaux à chiens la plus longue traversée de l'Antarctique jamais réalisée : 6300 km.

Infatigable défenseur de la planète, Jean-Louis ETIENNE a mené entre 1990 et 1996 plusieurs expéditions à vocation pédagogique pour faire connaître les régions polaires et comprendre le rôle qu'elles jouent sur la vie et le climat de la terre. À bord du voilier polaire Antarctica, il part en 1991-1992 pour la Patagonie, la Géorgie du Sud et la péninsule Antarctique. En 1993-1994, c'est l'expédition au volcan Érébus, en 1995-1996, l'hivernage au Spitzberg.

Au printemps 2002, il a réalisé la Mission Banquise, une dérive de trois mois sur la banquise du pôle Nord, à bord du Polar Observer pour un programme de recherche et d’informations sur le réchauffement climatique.

De décembre 2004 à avril 2005, il a dirigé une équipe de chercheurs du Muséum, de l’IRD, du CNRS afin de réaliser un inventaire de la biodiversité et un état de l’environnement marin sur l’atoll français de Clipperton dans le Pacifique..

De janvier 2007 à janvier 2008, il fait construire un dirigeable pour traverser l’Arctique et mesure l’épaisseur de la banquise. Après la destruction du dirigeable dans une tempête, l’expédition n’est pas encore repartie.

De septembre 2007 à octobre 2008 il a été Directeur Général de l’Institut Océanographique – Fondation Albert 1er, Prince de Monaco.

En avril 2010, il réussit la première traversée de l’océan Arctique en ballon rozière.

 

 
 
 
Contact Lettre d'information Aide Crédits Mentions légales Espace presse
Jean-Louis Etienne  English version
Septième continent - La maison d'édition